Passion for Rock Music

Liu Menkulashi

Liu Menkulashi. Taken from personal archive.

Liu Menkulasi is a sophomore second semester at AUBG. He studies Business Administration and Economics as majors at the university. However, he always finds free time for his hobby – singing and playing the guitar.

“I am talented in terms of music somehow.”

It all started after Liu participated in a talent show in his hometown in Albania. He had an exam in Chemistry at that time, however, he decided to skip it.

“I said “Screw it, I will go to this thing instead.”

It was the first time Liu was singing on stage, and he won the contest. The experience inspired Liu to devote more time to his talents: he started singing more and learning how to play the guitar.

“After winning that talent show, I sort of got into it, I even started learning the guitar somehow.”

When Liu came to AUBG as a freshman, he immediately signed up for Rock Jamming Club. Now he is singing in a band “RAs and the misfit.” The name came from the fact that three members of the band, including Liu, are Resident Assistants at Skaptos, while one of them is not. The band is playing all kinds of rock  music, from classic to alternative.

Starting from this semester, Liu is not only a member of the club but its president, which makes in charge of all the organized concerts.

“Now it is a lot more responsibilities but I like it so far.”

Even though Liu enjoy to sing in a band, he doesn’t consider it as a future profession.

“I mean I am willing to play as long as it is hobby and something that you do for sharing good music with people and enjoying yourself. As of making it as a career and turning it into something that you do for profit, no. I am not planning to do it as a career.”

However, Liu doesn’t know what profession he wants to work at the moment. He is on his way to discover.

“I do have goals and I do have plans but they are way too far away for me to talk about them right now.”

4 responses to “Passion for Rock Music

  1. Very bold of him to skip Chemistry for Music!

  2. Nice. I liked how he plays )

Leave a comment