Let’s Believe in Ourselves

I have met so many talented people at AUBG that I didn’t have enough weeks to post about them in my blog. I am actually so happy that our university has such young, motivated, hardworking and persistent students that follow their passion.

I have met Liu, a talented musician who can sing and play guitar. First, he wasn’t sure about his talent but when he won a talent show in his city, he started playing in a band.

“After winning that talent show, I sort of got into it, I even started learning the guitar somehow.”

Now he is a president of the Rock Jamming club at AUBG and is a member of the rock band “RAs and the misfit.”

I was also quite surprised by Baur’s story of developing his talent. I saw Baur dancing several times in the Dance crew during several events, and I was amazed by his talent. I thought that he learned dancing his whole life. Surprisingly, he started dancing at high school, and he was actually forced into it as he had a role in the play that required him to dance.

“It turned out to be so much fun that I fell in love with it. It turned out to be my hobby and my passion. After all these years I started practicing it, and I fell more deeply in love with it.”

Ayna, an amazing artist, also had a similar story. She liked drawing everywhere in her apartment when she was a child: on walls, doors and pillows. However, she didn’t like going to Arts school first till a famous Turkmen artist gave positive feedback to her works.

“She would give me chocolate, compliment me. She would actually tell me what I did right, that inspired me and made me feel good about myself. After that I went to the Arts school and that’s when I started to take drawing seriously.”

Some people just start developing their talents from a slight inspiration. For example, Galina fell in love with wonderful nature in North Carolina, that’s why she spent her money to buy a camera. She started learning photography from a scratch.

“It was an extremely beautiful place. I wanted to make a lot of photos there so with my first money I bought a professional camera and just started doing photography during free time that I had.”

What I have noticed is that people who I interviewed started developing their talents after some kind of inspiration, support from people around or some kind of appreciation.

Yes, I also experienced the same. When I entered the university I said to myself “No way will I study Journalism as I am bad in writing.” I didn’t believe in myself simply because I didn’t like writing essays for my literature classes in high school, I was always taking help from my mom. However, I didn’t like studying Economics, and I decided to switch to Journalism in the last moment.

I admit it was scary to take first classes which were writing intensive and therefore a challenge for me. It was hard but I overcame my fear. Now the more I write, the more I realize that I actually enjoy it.

Sometimes it is just hard to believe in yourself but all these people did, and they have developed their amazing skills. It is definitely scary to start something from a scratch but it is necessary to overcome the fear to find yourself in life. It will help you to discover your passion, follow it and be happy.

Next semester I am going to study at Carroll College in Montana, USA. As soon as I discover a talented student over there, I will post about him or her in blog! Thank you for reading my blog this semester. I was inspired by my readers!

In my final video my interviewees give you inspirational speech if you want to develop your talent. Watch and enjoy it! 🙂

8 responses to “Let’s Believe in Ourselves

  1. By reading this post I get a really good sense of what you’ve been doing this semester. It was so nice to get to know you. And shoot our class video together… Thank you! 🙂

  2. I do love Galina’s story. I think your blog topic was really great! one of my favorites. i hope you keep this up!

  3. Very inspiring final post 🙂 Congrats…

  4. I understand you so much! It’s always great to turn to what you love and want to do!

Leave a comment